How to Read the Outlander Books in Order (2024)

Table of Contents

Written by Diana Gabaldon, Outlander book series is a #1 NYT-bestselling novel series that has been dominating the market since its first book release.

Diana Gabaldon is an American author brought up in Flagstaff, Arizona. Not only is she an outstanding author but has three academic degrees in science. She was working as a professor before turning into a full-time writer.

You can connect with Diana Gabaldon on the below given socials.

Here goes the Outlander Books in Order (9+ Books):

1. Outlander (#1)

Rated 4.11/5 on Goodreads.

The novel is set in 1946 after World War 2 was just over. The story begins with an English woman named Claire Beauchamp Randall, who’s a combat nurse married to an army man, Frank.

She was trailing on the outskirts of the ring stones, common at the time of war when suddenly she entered a stone cleft and disappeared, travelling back to 1743. Here she meets a man named Jack Randall,who looks exactly like her husband, later proving out to be a great great great Uncle of his.

But he only looks like her husband and actually is a sadistic pervert. She escapes him and ends up meeting the Highland Scots gang who are themselves running away from Jack for some other reasons.

On her way to escape, she’s forced to marry James who she falls in love with on their journey but will she be able to return home or will she be captured by Jack or will her new love stop her from returning home!

2. Dragonfly In Amber (#2)

Rated 4.33/5 on Goodreads.

Plot in Dragonfly in Amber is a continued story of the Outlander book starting with a brief short story.

Claire Randall is searching for answers for her daughter, Brianna. She goes to meet a famous Oxford Don, Roger MacKenzie with a strange list of requests.

She is in tirelessly searching for anything that could tell her what happened to the army men who went to battle in 1746 and to Roger’s amazement, they end up on a grave in the search for relevant information.

Claire has no choice but to tell Roger and her daughter Brianna, actually what happened to her last year. She narrated about the events that took place when he went back in time. She explained how she met James and revealed to Roger’s astonishment a surprisingly unbelievable secret.

3. Voyager (#3)

Rated 4.39/5 on Goodreads.

Claire finds out that James had not died in the war that everybody presumes. Instead he had survived through the most drastic of conditions.

This book is a narration from Jame’s view point where he talks about how he survived on nearly nothing. In the meantime, Claire, Rodger and Brianna found out that he could still be alive. On the journey to find him, adding one clue to another, Roger and Brianna are getting close, while Claire’s still in daze.

Will they be able to find him? Will he be able to recognise his daughter Brianna? Will they ever live together as a family or not?

4. Drums of Autumn (#4)

Rated 4.35/5 on Goodreads.

In the fourth book of the Outlander series, Claire and Jamie with Jamie’s nephew start to settle in Carolina, leaving their daughter, Brianna behind.

Meanwhile, Brianna has discovered something peculiar, a sudden disruptive fire incident. Brianna and Roger McKenzie are hiding facts from each other in order to protect their love but time has something else planned.

Roger travels to the past following Brianna, will they be able to return or will they find something they didn’t knew?

5.The Fiery Cross (#5)

Rated 4.25/5 on Goodreads.

The war of the Regulation in North Carolina has forced Jamie to take a stand and protect his wife and child but it’s not just a war, it’s rebellion of tax-payers and Jamie’s family is caught in the middle.

With his wife, who’s now a conjure-woman for the ridge, his daughter from the future and his son in law with whom he doesn’t get along yet, he has to get away from the war. But will he be able to keep himself and everyone else safe or will there be disloyalty?

6. A Breath of Snow and Ashes (#6)

Rated 4.43/5 on Goodreads.

History has turned its wheel and Jamie’s forced to declare himself as a rebel. Fraser’s Ridge is under brutal attack with Marsali (Jamie’s step daughter) getting attached and Claire and Jamie being taken into custody and forced to move places.

In the meantime, Roger McKenzie, Brianna’s husband has managed to get himself a perfect spot in the 18th century as Presbyterian minister. On his day of ordination, he comes to know that his wife is abducted. He has decided to take Jamie with him, on a mission to rescue her but will they be able to or will they lose her to history.

7. An Echo In The Bone (#7)

Rated 4.44/5 on Goodreads.

The American Revolution has set its foot strong with Jamie and Claire being in the midst of all happenings. In the meantime, his daughter Brianna along with her husband and children have settled down in the 1970s.

Alongside everything, Lord John Grey with his step son William (illegitimate son of Jamie) has entered the revolutionary War on the British side. Amidst all the chaos, Jamie’s love life has taken a turn. Something new is broiling up. What’s going to happen with Jamie next!

8. Written In My Own Heart’s Blood (#8)

Rated 4.55/5 on Goodreads.

Set in 1778, the rebels seem to be succeeding as the British army is moving back with the revolution finally achieving what it should have. But things are still not going well for Frasers, Jamie has returned from the dead, demanding how Claire married his friend Lord John Grey.

In the meantime, Lord John’s son finds out that his set dad is actually his biological father. Claire is afraid that her husbands will kill each other while Claire’s action has set a whirlwind of serious consequences for the future generations of 20 century.

Brianna is trying to protect his son from a vicious criminal while his husband Roger has left and disappeared in the past. What’s next for Frasers, will they be able to protect their loved ones or is it time for a bloodbath!

9. Go Tell The Bees That I Am Gone (#9)

Rated 4.5/5 on Goodreads.

Jamie and Claire were separated for 20 years from their family in the Jacobite rebellion and finally have met their daughter and her family after so long of a wait.

But the American Revolution has set its course, threatening Frasers yet again. Brianna and her family left the 20th century to be safe in the 1700s, but the war is creeping up Frasers porch, will they be able to be together or is it the last time they’re seeing each other!

10. Untitled

Dianna is working on the 10th and most probably the last Outlander book in the series which will be published in the coming time.

Apart from the main book series, Diana has written a few novellas in the Outlander series as well.

Want to keep up with our blog?

Get our most valuable tips right inside your inbox, once per month!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *